2019-20 Rebels team award winners announced

Due to the Covid-19 pandemic we will be unable to hold our annual year-end awards banquet.
However, we would still like to take the time to recognize the efforts of the 2019-20 edition of the Char-Lan Rebels Junior Hockey Club.
2019-20 was a year that began with much promise; Coming off an exciting playoff run in 2018-19, the team added veterans Joe Samson and Noah Konink to a strong returning core including Liam MacDonald, Taran Fiacco and Dillon Spinner. We welcomed first year players Owen Carter, Rylan Iwachniuk, Paul Waldhauser and Kale MacCormick, as graduates of the U18 Colts and Tim Cook from US High School. Jeff Carter made a few shrewd moves throughout the season adding talented players Alexandre Elie, Hunter MacPherson and Lochlan MacDonald via trade and re-acquiring Isaac Testani from the Cornwall Colts. We juggled 6 new faces through the crease, but eventually saw the emergence of promising young goaltender Ceili Picard. We also saw several affiliates make impacts in their debuts! Unfortunately, the injury bug took a toll on key players like MacCormick, Parker Tallman and Shane Gaudreau in a season that saw no player able to play in all 44 games. While we fell short of the goal of making the playoffs, we made some definite progress. The future of the Char-Lan Rebels looks bright!
The Rebels have some long-standing awards with a lot of tradition behind them. And even though we can’t get together to celebrate the achievement of our award winners, we still wanted to take the time to recognize them.
And the winners are…
Rookie of The Year – Owen Carter
The Sandilands Trophy – Sportsmanship & Playing Ability – Alexandre Elie
Kenneth A. MacDonald Memorial Award – Overall Proficiency – Dillon Spinner
Marc Beaudet Memorial Award -Best Defensive Forward – Taran Fiacco
Earle Sandilands Award – Team Spirit – Rylan Iwachniuk & Paul Waldhauser
Dalton Amell Landscaping – Defenseman of The Year – Noah Konink
Most Effective & Dedicated Player – Joseph Samson & Noah Konink
The Robert Curran Memorial Trophy – MVP for the Season – Joseph Samson

Congratulations to the winners and many thanks to the efforts and commitment of all players this season. A tip of the cap to a goes out to graduating defenseman Noah Konink! Thank you for all your contributions this season! The Rebels were very fortunate to have had you as part of our team!
A special thank you goes out to the contributions of coach and GM Jeff Carter, assistant coach Kevin MacCormick and trainer Dylan Seguin!
As an organization, we’re hoping and praying that we can soon return to life as we knew it… And hope to see you all this fall at training camp!
Stay safe everyone!
Go Rebs Go!